Over 100 countries that need a yellow fever card

yellow fever card

According to WHO, a yellow fever card is a medical passport issued to travelers entering locations with the risks of yellow fever. It is also known as the international certificate of Vaccination.

The yellow fever card is often issued 10 days after the vaccination is received, and its immunity is valid for a lifetime. But you must be of 9 months and above. The yellow fever vaccination is one of the safest ways to prevent the virus called Yellow fever, which I will be discussing further. A single intake of the yellow fever vaccine can guarantee life-long sustained immunity against the yellow fever virus.

What is yellow fever?

Yellow fever is an acute viral hemorrhagic disease transmitted by infected mosquitoes. Symptoms of this disease range from fever, headache, muscle pain, nausea, vomiting, and fatigue. It is difficult to diagnose this disease during the incubation phase which usually happens between 3-6 days. Many times, it is mistaken for malaria. But when the virus advances to 7-10 days, it might result in death.

Countries that require a yellow fever certification

These countries require that you have a yellow fever card before gaining access to their country. They include:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Albania
  3. Algeria
  4. Angola
  5. Anguilla
  6. Antigua and Barbuda
  7. Australia
  8. Bahamas
  9. Bahrain
  10. Bangladesh
  11. Barbados
  12. Belize
  13. Benin
  14. Bhutan
  15. Bolivia
  16. Botswana
  17. Brunei and Darussalam
  18. Burkina Faso
  19. Burundi
  20. Cabo Verde
  21. Cambodia
  22. Cameroon
  23. Central African Republic
  24. Chad
  25. China
  26. Congo
  27. Costa Rica
  28. Cote d’Ivoire
  29. Djibouti
  30. Dominica
  31. The Democratic Republic of the Congo
  32. Ecuador
  33. Egypt
  34. El Salvador
  35. Equatorial Guinea
  36. Eritrea
  37. Ethiopia
  38. Fiji
  39. France
  40. French Guiana
  41. French Polynesia
  42. Gabon
  43. The Gambia
  44. Ghana
  45. Grenada
  46. Guatemala
  47. Guinea
  48. Guinea-Bissau
  49. Guyana
  50. Honduras
  51. India
  52. Indonesia
  53. Iran
  54. Iraq
  55. Jamaica
  56. Japan
  57. Jordan
  58. Kazakhstan
  59. Kenya
  60. Kiribati
  61. Kyrgyzstan
  62. Lao People’s democratic republic
  63. Lebanon
  64. Liberia
  65. Libya
  66. Madagascar
  67. Malawi
  68. Malaysia
  69. Maldives
  70. Mali
  71. Malta
  72. Martinique (France)
  73. Mauritania
  74. Mauritius
  75. Mayotte (France)
  76. Mexico
  77. Montserrat
  78. Mozambique
  79. Myanmar
  80. Namibia
  81. Nauru
  82. Nepal
  83. Netherlands Antilles (Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, St Ecstasies, St Martin)
  84. New Caledonia and dependencies
  85. Niger
  86. Nigeria
  87. Nue
  88. Norfolk Island
  89. North Korea
  90. Oman
  91. Pakistan
  92. Papua New Guinea
  93. Paraguay
  94. Peru
  95. Philippines
  96. Pitcairn
  97. Reunion (France)
  98. Rwanda
  99. Saint Barthelme
  100. Saint Helena
  101. Saint Kits and Nevis
  102. Saint Lucia
  103. Saint Martin
  104. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  105. Samoa
  106. Sao Tome and Principe
  107. Saudi Arabia
  108. Senegal
  109. Seychelles
  110. Sierra Leone
  111. Singapore
  112. Solomon Islands
  113. Somalia
  114. South Africa
  115. Sri Lanka
  116. Sudan
  117. Suriname
  118. Swaziland
  119. Thailand
  120. Timor-Leste
  121. Togo
  122. Tokelau
  123. Trinidad and Tobago
  124. Tunisia
  125. Uganda
  126. Tanzania
  127. Vietnam
  128. Wallis and Futuna
  129. Yemen
  130. Zambia
  131. Zimbabwe

Why do you need a yellow fever card?

You need a yellow fever card to prove you received a Yellow Fever vaccination. You could be denied boarding a flight to countries with the risks of a yellow fever virus.

Who should get the yellow fever vaccine?

Anyone above the age of 9 months can get the yellow fever vaccination. However, they are exceptions. These exceptions include:

  • Pregnant and nursing mothers.
  • Individuals with egg protein allergy.
  • Individuals with immunodeficiency or those with thymus disorder.

Nevertheless, you could obtain an exemption stamp on your yellow fever card to access endemic locations.

When does a yellow fever certification become valid?

A yellow fever card becomes valid 10 days after you have received the yellow fever vaccine. Then you will be eligible to obtain a yellow fever card.

Are there penalties for not having a yellow fever certification?

Different countries have varying penalties for travelers who do not have a yellow fever vaccination card. Mild penalties may include quarantine for a certain period, while more severe ones can result in deportation.

In India, individuals who arrive by air or sea and do not have a yellow fever vaccination card may be detained in isolation for up to 6 days due to the following criteria:

  1. They arrived from an area with a risk of yellow fever virus.
  2. They have been in such an area during transit.
  3. They arrived on a ship that either started from or touched any port area with a risk of yellow fever transmission up to 30 days before arrival in India.

Will I need to replace my yellow card after 10 years?

You may need to obtain a new yellow card in 10 years. Although the yellow fever vaccination guarantees life-long immunity against yellow fever as stated by WHO. But some countries may require a new yellow card after 10 years before you are allowed into their country. Ensure you verify from a travel health expert to stay updated on varying rules that guide these countries.

If you are still in doubt about ways to get a yellow card as a Nigerian or a visitor to Nigeria, do well to read our blog on The New E-Yellow card obtainable at #2000. For more details on travel guides and exclusive content, ensure you stay glued to our page.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top