28 January 2019






sg_popup id=”993″ event=”inherit”][/sg_popup]The yellow card for travel is the second most important item in the pre-departure check-list right after the passport. This further begs the question  ‘How many countries do I need a yellow card to visit? and ‘To whom is a yellow fever card issued?’

Our article today answers these questions and also list countries that require a yellow card from citizen or traveler from countries with cases of yellow fever.

The yellow card is endorsed by the World Health Organization (WHO). It is then issued and stamped by various country’s health authorities.

Did you know the Yellow fever vaccination is carried out for two different purposes?

  1. To prevent the international spread of the disease by protecting countries from the risk of importing or spreading the yellow fever virus
  2. To protect individual travelers who may be exposed to yellow fever infection.

Are there penalties for not having a yellow card or having an expired yellow card?

The penalty varies for different countries, in mild cases, travelers are quarantined for a period of time and in extreme cases, travelers may face deportation.

In India, anyone (except infants up to the age of 6 months) arriving by air or sea without a yellow fever vaccination certificate is detained in isolation for up to six days if that person

(i) Arrives from an area with risk of yellow fever transmission

(ii) Has been in such an area in transit  or

(iii) Arrives on a ship that started from or touched at any port area with risk of yellow fever transmission up to 30 days before its arrival in India.

The List below shows the list of 100 plus Countries that require Yellow card for international travel

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Albania
  3. Algeria
  4. Angola
  5. Anguilla
  6. Antigua and Barbuda
  7. Australia
  8. Bahamas
  9. Bahrain
  10. Bangladesh
  11. Barbados
  12. Belize
  13. Benin
  14. Bhutan
  15. Bolivia
  16. Botswana
  17. Brunei and Darussalam
  18. Burkina Faso
  19. Burundi
  20. Cabo Verde
  21. Cambodia
  22. Cameroon
  23. Central African Republic
  24. Chad
  25. China
  26. Congo
  27. Costa Rica
  28. Cote d’Ivoire
  29. Djibouti
  30. Dominica
  31. The Democratic Republic of the Congo
  32. Ecuador
  33. Egypt
  34. El Salvador
  35. Equatorial Guinea
  36. Eritrea
  37. Ethiopia
  38. Fiji
  39. France
  40. French Guiana
  41. French Polynesia
  42. Gabon
  43. The Gambia
  44. Ghana
  45. Grenada
  46. Guatemala
  47. Guinea
  48. Guinea-Bissau
  49. Guyana
  50. Honduras
  51. India
  52. Indonesia
  53. Iran
  54. Iraq
  55. Jamaica
  56. Japan
  57. Jordan
  58. Kazakhstan
  59. Kenya
  60. Kiribati
  61. Kyrgyzstan
  62. Lao people’s democratic republic
  63. Lebanon
  64. Liberia
  65. Libya
  66. Madagascar
  67. Malawi
  68. Malaysia
  69. Maldives
  70. Mali
  71. Malta
  72. Martinique (France)
  73. Mauritania
  74. Mauritius
  75. Mayotte (France)
  76. Mexico
  77. Montserrat
  78. Mozambique
  79. Myanmar
  80. Namibia
  81. Nauru
  82. Nepal
  83. Netherlands Antilles (Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, St Ecstasies, St Martin)
  84. New Caledonia and dependencies
  85. Niger
  86. Nigeria
  87. Nue
  88. Norfolk Island
  89. North Korea
  90. Oman
  91. Pakistan
  92. Papua New Guinea
  93. Paraguay
  94. Peru
  95. Philippines
  96. Pitcairn
  97. Reunion (France)
  98. Rwanda
  99. Saint Barthelme
  100. Saint Helena
  101. Saint Kits and Nevis
  102. Saint Lucia
  103. Saint Martin
  104. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  105. Samoa
  106. Sao Tome and Principe
  107. Saudi Arabia
  108. Senegal
  109. Seychelles
  110. Sierra Leone
  111. Singapore
  112. Solomon Islands
  113. Somalia
  114. South Africa
  115. Sri Lanka
  116. Sudan
  117. Suriname
  118. Swaziland
  119. Thailand
  120. Timor-Leste
  121. Togo
  122. Tokelau
  123. Triniland and Tobago
  124. Tunisia
  125. Uganda
  126. Tanzania
  127. Vietnam
  128. Wallis and Futuna
  129. Yemen
  130. Zambia
  131. Zimbabwe

Wondering ‘What is a yellow card? How to get a Yellow card as a Nigerian traveler or a visitor to Nigeria? Read our previous post here on the new E yellow card obtainable for just N2000 only. For more information and details regarding countries that require yellow fever cards or proof of vaccination, find more details here according to WHO
We hope you found this useful? Kindly leave us your comments and suggestions below


  • here says:

    This is actually helpful, thanks.

  • google.com says:

    Awesome! Its in fact awesome piece of writing, I have got much clear idea concerning from this article.

  • Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have
    you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic, let alone the content!

  • Achmed Tabouli says:

    This is totally false. The countries that actually require a Yellow Fever passport are far, far fewer in number. Google it.

    • admin says:

      Hello Achmed, these countries require yellow fever cards from travellers from yellow fever prevalent countries. If one isn’t travelling or resident in such countries, the requirements differ. Thank you

  • Hey would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with?

    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and
    Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most
    blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × 5 =